Getting to Yes (Review)

Getting to Yes: Negotiating Agreement Without Giving In

What the author/publisher says:

Since its original publication nearly thirty years ago, Getting to Yes has helped millions of people learn a better way to negotiate. One of the primary business texts of the modern era, it is based on the work of the Harvard Negotiation Project, a group that deals with all levels of negotiation and conflict resolution. 

Getting to Yes offers a proven, step-by-step strategy for coming to mutually acceptable agreements in every sort of conflict. Thoroughly updated and revised, it offers readers a straight-forward, universally applicable method for negotiating personal and professional disputes without getting angry-or getting taken.

What I say:

I had to read this book for one of my classes (negotiating class, couldn’t you guess?).  I figured, since I read it, I would review it. The school provided it for me, which is good because frankly I’m cheap and I hate to pay for things that don’t interest me.  That being said, because it was a required reading it felt more like a chore rather than a joy. It’s less than 200 pages of actual knowledge and antidotes.  And really, it wasn’t the worst thing in the world that I could have read, but because I was told that I had to read it. I found myself doodling in the margins and underlining stuff that I thought I might need for my exam.  I passed the class, so it must have been okay.  I did enjoy some of the examples provided, but I don’t think I learned anything beyond commonsense and things I already knew.

I ended up giving my paper copy to my husband for his own reading pleasure, doodles and all.

Getting to Yes by Roger Fisher, William L. Ury, and Bruce Patton

Publication Date:  May 3, 2011 (revised)

Publisher: Penguin Books

Price Point: $10.88 (Amazon, paperback)

Leave a comment

Filed under Reviews

Leave a Reply

